A digital personal finance company that provides online banking, lending, investing, and insurance services to consumers. The platform offers student loan refinancing, personal loans, mortgages, investment accounts, and credit cards through its mobile app and website. Their policies are significant because they govern how sensitive financial data is collected and used, along with the terms under which users access banking and investment services.

4 Documents
62 All provisions 15 High severity 34 Medium severity 13 Low severity
64 Changes · 12 mo
Sep 5, 2026 Last change

High, provisions that significantly limit your legal rights, authorize broad data collection, or create material financial exposure. Medium, provisions worth knowing about but with partial protections or limited scope. Low, standard terms with minimal consumer impact.

Objective measurements
Counted directly from the archive for SoFi — documents, captured versions, and detected changes.
4
Documents tracked
98
Versions captured
64
Changes · 12 mo
64
Changes · all-time
1.9 d
Avg between changes
3
Days since change
19 d
Longest stable stretch
ConductAtlas User-Protection Index
Provisional · scored on 4 of 6
12.1/100
Consumer tier · provisional until more dimensions are known
How is this scored? →
Baseline 12.1 here · corpus average 31.4 across 191 scored platforms Bottom quartile Q1 18.4 · median 30.8 · Q3 42.3

Higher = more protective of you, the user/customer — a deliberately user-protective lens, not a universal “good vs bad” score. Computed algorithmically from SoFi’s cited governance stances; no dimension we haven’t confidently read is ever counted against the score. Free, reproducible, and never purchasable.

Consumer tier · 12.1/100 · provisional · scored on 4 of 6
Arbitration & class action weight 22% not stated
Data sharing & sale weight 20% 36.4
AI training on your data weight 18% not stated
Data retention & deletion weight 15% 0.0
Content ownership & licence weight 15% 0.0
Governance Coverage
Contract Terms
31 provisions · 6 high · 20 med
Liability Limitation
23 provisions · 10 high · 13 med
Acceptable Use
21 provisions · 3 high · 11 med
Platform Discretion
16 provisions · 6 high · 9 med
Commission Payout
14 provisions · 2 high · 10 med
Data Collection
13 provisions · 6 high · 6 med
Payment Fees
11 provisions · 6 high · 4 med
Privacy Rights
8 provisions · 2 high · 6 med
Data Usage
8 provisions · 4 high · 2 med
Intellectual Property
7 provisions · 7 med
Quick Facts
Arbitration: Not stated
AI Training: Not stated
Data Retention: Retained after closure
Class Action: Not stated
Key Governance Provisions
High 1% invest match requires five-year deposit holding period

The five-year per-deposit holding period is a material condition on receiving the invest match; failing to meet it for any individual deposit disqualifies that deposit, regardless of how long other d…

High SoFi Plus requires $10 monthly subscription fee

SoFi Plus membership, and any benefits attached to it, require an ongoing $10 monthly payment, making access to those benefits contingent on continued fee payment.

High AI Coach responses may be incorrect and not relied upon for advice

This clause contractually bars users from treating SoFi Coach as a source of professional advice, which limits SoFi's exposure while placing verification responsibility on the user.

High Rewards points are not user property and have no cash value

Denying property status and cash value means users have no ownership interest in accumulated points and cannot demand monetary compensation for them.

High One-year statute of limitations on claims against SoFi

A one-year limitation period is shorter than most statutory limitation periods and permanently extinguishes claims not filed in time, significantly restricting users' ability to seek legal remedies.

Document Coverage
Privacypolicy Termsofservice
Last change detected: Sep 5, 2026 Changes (12 months): 64 Documents monitored: 4 Provisions tracked: 62
Compare With Similar Platforms
Acorns ADP Adyen Affirm Afterpay Allstate Apple Pay Bank of America

Documents

SoFi Terms of Service (Superseded URL)

Last updated May 5, 2026 · Terms of service
0 provisions 16 versions captured 4 significant changes Version history →

SoFi Privacy Notice (Superseded URL)

Last updated May 5, 2026 · Privacy policy
0 provisions 6 versions captured Version history →

SoFi Terms of Service

High

This document sets the rules for using SoFi's website, app, and services. SoFi can change these rules at any time without telling you directly, can cut off your access if …

Last updated March 14, 2026 · Terms of service
10 provisions 47 versions captured 10 significant changes Version history →

SoFi Privacy Notice

Medium

SoFi's Privacy Notice explains what personal information SoFi collects—including through tracking technologies—and how it shares that information with affiliates, third parties, and advertising partners. You can opt out of certain …

Last updated March 14, 2026 · Privacy policy
7 provisions 29 versions captured 5 significant changes Version history →

Recent Changes

August 19, 2026 · SoFi Terms of Service (Superseded URL) Medium

SoFi modified its SoFi Plus investment match promotion in an update detected on August 18, 2026. The prior offer required SoFi Plus membership for one continuous year; the revised terms …

View change record →
August 19, 2026 · SoFi Terms of Service Medium

SoFi revised its SoFi Plus membership benefits in an update detected on August 18, 2026. The 1% match promotion on investment account deposits was restructured: the holding requirement changed from …

View change record →
August 5, 2026 · SoFi Terms of Service (Superseded URL) Medium

SoFi updated its referral promotion terms in an update detected on August 5, 2026. The promotion period shifted from June 24 – August 4, 2026 to August 5 – September …

View change record →
August 5, 2026 · SoFi Terms of Service Medium

SoFi revised the terms of its referral promotion program in an update detected on August 5, 2026. The promotion period shifted from June 24 – August 4, 2026 to August …

View change record →
August 1, 2026 · SoFi Terms of Service (Superseded URL) Medium

SoFi shortened its referral promotion period from December 31, 2026 to August 4, 2026, and modified the eligibility mechanics for both the Standard Bonus and SoFi Plus Additional Bonus by …

View change record →
📈 Policy Drift Analysis View all changes →

Medium Severity Provisions (31)

View all high severity provisions → Compare SoFi with other platforms →

Get the research letter

Companies change their terms quietly. We read every version and catch what actually changed. One email a week on the changes that matter and what they mean.

Applicable Regulations

CCPA/CPRA
California, USA
View official text ↗
CFAA
United States Federal
View official text ↗
Connecticut Data Privacy Act Amendments
US-CT
View official text ↗
CAN-SPAM
United States Federal
View official text ↗
EFTA / Reg E
United States Federal
View official text ↗
FCRA
United States Federal
View official text ↗
FAA
United States Federal
View official text ↗
FTC Act Section 5
United States Federal
View official text ↗
GLBA
United States Federal
View official text ↗
Indiana Consumer Data Protection Act
US-IN
View official text ↗
Kentucky Consumer Data Protection Act
US-KY
View official text ↗
TCPA
United States Federal
View official text ↗
Universal Opt-Out Mechanism Expansion 2026
US
View official text ↗

Compare with Similar Platforms

Acorns
financial
ADP
financial
Adyen
financial
Affirm
financial
Afterpay
financial
Allstate
financial
Apple Pay
financial
Bank of America
financial

Frequently Asked Questions

What SoFi documents does ConductAtlas track?

ConductAtlas tracks 4 SoFi documents including terms of service, privacy policy, and other governance documents. Every document is captured daily with cryptographic verification.

How many policy changes has SoFi made in the past year?

SoFi has made 64 policy changes in the past 12 months across the documents ConductAtlas tracks.

How many provisions has ConductAtlas classified for SoFi?

ConductAtlas has classified 62 provisions across SoFi's tracked documents. 15 are rated high severity, 34 medium, and 13 low.

Can I get alerts when SoFi changes their policies?

Yes. Monitor subscribers ($4.99/month) can add SoFi to their watchlist and receive same-day email alerts whenever any tracked document changes.