SoFi may update these Terms at any time by posting a revised version on its website, and continued use of the platform constitutes acceptance of the updated Terms, without any direct notification to the user.
This analysis describes what SoFi's agreement states, permits, or reserves. It does not constitute a legal determination about enforceability. Regulatory applicability and practical outcomes may vary by jurisdiction, enforcement context, and individual circumstances. Read our methodology
This provision establishes that the contractual terms governing all SoFi products and services, including financial accounts, can be modified without direct notice to users, with acceptance implied through continued platform use. This mechanism creates an ongoing obligation for users to periodically check for updates to avoid being bound by materially changed terms.
The updated terms establish a new holding structure for the SoFi Plus 1% investment match benefit. Previously, members needed to maintain SoFi Plus membership for one continuous year from each deposit settlement to retain the match; the updated terms now require deposits to remain in the investment account for five years to retain the full match amount. The promotional period for this benefit restarted on August 18, 2026 and now runs through an unspecified termination date set by SoFi. Early withdrawal or account closure within the five-year period will result in loss of the match amount, though SoFi removed the explicit cancellation fee language in favor of forfeiture through the holding requirement. A limited-time 1% Deposit Match Offer available August 18-31, 2026 can now be combined with the main benefit if qualifying deposits and holding periods are independently satisfied for each offer.
View change record →The updated terms establish new conditions for SoFi's referral promotion that became effective on August 5, 2026. New account holders must now deposit $500 or more (rather than $50) within 21 days to qualify for the $50 Standard Bonus. For those subscribing to SoFi Plus, the terms now explicitly require that the $10/month payment be processed and validated by SoFi within the same 21-day window. Under the revised promotion period running through September 30, 2026, these higher activation thresholds apply to all new referrals.
View change record →The updated terms accelerate the referral promotion deadline to August 4, 2026, and impose tighter timing requirements on eligible recipients: accounts must open before the promotion ends, and deposits must settle within 21 days of both opening the link and registering or logging in as a SoFi user. This creates a more compressed eligibility window than the previous 21-day window measured from clicking the link alone. For SoFi Plus members, the updated terms now state that SoFi will automatically enable Overdraft Protection linking individual checking accounts to individual savings accounts (and joint accounts to joint accounts), allowing available savings to cover checking overdrafts without fees. You can disable Overdraft Protection at any time through the SoFi app or website, and funds applied to overdraft protection are limited to savings deposits not allocated to a Vault.
View change record →Under this clause, the agreement governing a user's SoFi banking, lending, or investment accounts may change at any time, and continued use of the platform after such a change constitutes binding acceptance. The agreement does not specify a minimum notice period or require affirmative re-acceptance for material changes.
Cross-platform context
See how other platforms handle Unilateral Terms Modification Without Notice and similar clauses.
Compare across platforms →"SoFi may change this Terms of Use Agreement from time to time by posting a current version on the SoFi website without delivering any notice to you. Please review the current version of this Terms of Use on the SoFi Site from time to time, because your continued access or use of the SoFi Site shall be deemed your acceptance of the Terms of Use in place at that time.Excerpt from SoFi's Terms of Service
1.
Enforcement risk, jurisdiction flags, contract triggers, and due diligence action items.
Get the research letter
Companies change their terms quietly. We read every version and catch what actually changed. One email a week on the changes that matter and what they mean.
This provision establishes that the contractual terms governing all SoFi products and services, including financial accounts, can be modified without direct notice to users, with acceptance implied through continued platform use. This mechanism creates an ongoing obligation for users to periodically check for updates to avoid being bound by materially changed terms.
Under this clause, the agreement governing a user's SoFi banking, lending, or investment accounts may change at any time, and continued use of the platform after such a change constitutes binding acceptance. The agreement does not specify a minimum notice period or require affirmative re-acceptance for material changes.
No. ConductAtlas is an independent monitoring service. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by SoFi.