Provision record
Amazon Marketplace · Amazon Privacy Notice · View original document ↗

Children's Privacy and Age Restriction

Medium severity Medium confidence Explicit document language Unique · 0 of 352 platforms
Stay ahead of the changes
Track Amazon Marketplace and get the diff the day its terms change.
Share 𝕏 Share in Share 🔒 PDF
Document Record

What it is

The notice states that users under 18 may only use Amazon Services with parent or guardian involvement, and that Amazon does not knowingly collect personal information from children under 13 without verifiable parental consent.

ⓘ

This analysis describes what Amazon Marketplace's agreement states, permits, or reserves. It does not constitute a legal determination about enforceability. Regulatory applicability and practical outcomes may vary by jurisdiction, enforcement context, and individual circumstances. Read our methodology

ConductAtlas Analysis

Why it matters (compliance & governance perspective)

This provision establishes age-related usage restrictions and a COPPA-aligned commitment not to knowingly collect data from children under 13 without parental consent. The notice directs readers to a separate Children's Privacy Disclosure for additional information.

⚠

Interpretive note: The notice does not specify the technical or procedural mechanisms used to verify age or obtain parental consent, limiting assessment of whether the stated COPPA compliance commitment is operationally implemented in a manner consistent with current FTC requirements.

Recent Activity

This document changed recently

Medium Aug 9, 2026

The updated privacy notice explicitly discloses that Amazon uses machine learning and artificial intelligence to support and enhance customer experience, including developing and deploying generative AI models and services. Under the revised policy, your personal information may be used for these AI development purposes. Amazon added a reference to its Generative AI Development Disclosure for additional details on how data is used in this context. You can review the Generative AI Development Disclosure linked in the updated privacy notice for more specific information about AI model development.

View change record →

Consumer impact (what this means for users)

Under this clause, Amazon asserts it does not knowingly collect personal information from users under age 13 without parental consent, and that users aged 13 to 17 must have parent or guardian involvement to use Amazon Services. The notice does not specify the technical or procedural mechanisms used to verify user age or parental consent.

Cross-platform context

See how other platforms handle Children's Privacy and Age Restriction and similar clauses.

Compare across platforms →
▸ View Original Clause Language DOCUMENT RECORD
"
Amazon does not sell products for purchase by children. We sell children's products for purchase by adults. If you are under 18, you may use Amazon Services only with the involvement of a parent or guardian. We do not knowingly collect personal information from children under the age of 13 without the consent of the child's parent or guardian.

Excerpt from Amazon Marketplace's Amazon Privacy Notice

ConductAtlas Analysis

Institutional analysis (regulatory & governance intelligence)

1) REGULATORY LANDSCAPE: This provision engages the Children's Online Privacy Protection Act (COPPA), enforced by the FTC, which requires verifiable parental consent before collecting personal information from children under 13.

Insight

Unlock the full institutional analysis

Enforcement risk, jurisdiction flags, contract triggers, and due diligence action items.

Applicable agencies

  • Federal Trade Commission (ftc)
    Oversees unfair or deceptive business practices and can investigate companies that mislead consumers about data collection, sharing, or use.
    Who can file: Anyone affected by the company's practices (US or international)
    What you need: Your account details, a timeline of relevant events, and a description of the specific issue
    What to expect: Complaints inform FTC enforcement priorities and investigations but do not result in individual resolution or compensation
    File a complaint →
  • State Attorney General
    State AGs in California, New York, Texas, and other states can investigate violations of state consumer protection and privacy laws, including CCPA (California), SHIELD Act (New York), and equivalents.
    Who can file: Residents of states with comprehensive privacy laws — primarily California, Virginia, Colorado, Connecticut, and Utah
    What you need: Evidence of the violation, explanation of how your state rights were affected, and your account or contact information with the company
    What to expect: Outcomes vary by state. May result in investigation, enforcement action, or requirement for the company to change practices. No direct individual compensation in most cases.

    Search "[your state] attorney general consumer complaint" to find your state's direct complaint form

Provision details

Document information
Document
Amazon Privacy Notice
Entity
Amazon Marketplace
Document last updated
May 5, 2026
Tracking information
First tracked
April 27, 2026
Last verified
July 9, 2026
Record ID
CA-P-016140
Document ID
CA-D-00027
Evidence Provenance
Source URL
Wayback Machine
Content hash (SHA-256)
8d2e6f401e3074315cb3ef72d05c681865898ea8e39095517ad2ab8b4eb73cd6
Analysis generated
April 27, 2026 10:46 UTC
Methodology
Evidence
✓ Snapshot stored   ✓ Hash verified
Citation Record
Entity: Amazon Marketplace
Document: Amazon Privacy Notice
Record ID: CA-P-016140
Captured: 2026-04-27 10:46:06 UTC
SHA-256: 8d2e6f401e307431…
URL: https://conductatlas.com/platform/amazon-marketplace/amazon-privacy-notice/provision/CA-P-016140/childrens-privacy-and-age-restriction/
Accessed: Sept. 26, 2026
Permanent archival reference. Stable identifier suitable for legal filings, compliance documentation, and research citation.
Classification
Severity
Medium
Categories

Other risks in this policy

Get the research letter

Companies change their terms quietly. We read every version and catch what actually changed. One email a week on the changes that matter and what they mean.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does Amazon Marketplace's Children's Privacy and Age Restriction clause do?

This provision establishes age-related usage restrictions and a COPPA-aligned commitment not to knowingly collect data from children under 13 without parental consent. The notice directs readers to a separate Children's Privacy Disclosure for additional information.

How does this clause affect you?

Under this clause, Amazon asserts it does not knowingly collect personal information from users under age 13 without parental consent, and that users aged 13 to 17 must have parent or guardian involvement to use Amazon Services. The notice does not specify the technical or procedural mechanisms used to verify user age or parental consent.

Is ConductAtlas affiliated with Amazon Marketplace?

No. ConductAtlas is an independent monitoring service. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Amazon Marketplace.