The notice discloses that Amazon's physical retail locations use cameras, computer vision systems, sensors, and related technology to collect data about customer activity, including product interactions within the store.
This analysis describes what Amazon Marketplace's agreement states, permits, or reserves. It does not constitute a legal determination about enforceability. Regulatory applicability and practical outcomes may vary by jurisdiction, enforcement context, and individual circumstances. Read our methodology
This provision authorizes collection of behavioral and potentially biometric-adjacent data in physical store environments without specifying distinct consent mechanisms, retention periods, or opt-out procedures beyond general service use consent. The scope of this collection may require evaluation under state biometric privacy statutes and consumer health data laws depending on the jurisdiction in which stores operate.
Interpretive note: The extent to which cameras and sensors collect biometric data as legally defined under state statutes versus general behavioral activity data is not specified in the notice, creating interpretive uncertainty about applicable regulatory obligations.
The updated privacy notice explicitly discloses that Amazon uses machine learning and artificial intelligence to support and enhance customer experience, including developing and deploying generative AI models and services. Under the revised policy, your personal information may be used for these AI development purposes. Amazon added a reference to its Generative AI Development Disclosure for additional details on how data is used in this context. You can review the Generative AI Development Disclosure linked in the updated privacy notice for more specific information about AI model development.
View change record →The agreement establishes that physical store visits may result in collection of activity data through cameras, sensors, and computer vision systems. The notice does not specify a separate opt-out mechanism for in-store data collection distinct from the general choice not to use Amazon Services.
Cross-platform context
See how other platforms handle In-Store Camera, Sensor, and Computer Vision Data Collection and similar clauses.
Compare across platforms →"Our physical stores may use cameras, computer vision, sensors, and other technology to gather information about your activity in the store, such as the products and services you interact with.Excerpt from Amazon Marketplace's Amazon Privacy Notice
1) REGULATORY LANDSCAPE: This provision may require evaluation under the Illinois Biometric Information Privacy Act, the Washington My Health MY Data Act, the Texas Capture or Use of Biometric Identifier Act, and similar state statutes …
Enforcement risk, jurisdiction flags, contract triggers, and due diligence action items.
Search "[your state] attorney general consumer complaint" to find your state's direct complaint form
Get the research letter
Companies change their terms quietly. We read every version and catch what actually changed. One email a week on the changes that matter and what they mean.
This provision authorizes collection of behavioral and potentially biometric-adjacent data in physical store environments without specifying distinct consent mechanisms, retention periods, or opt-out procedures beyond general service use consent. The scope of this collection may require evaluation under state biometric privacy statutes and consumer health data laws depending on the jurisdiction in which stores operate.
The agreement establishes that physical store visits may result in collection of activity data through cameras, sensors, and computer vision systems. The notice does not specify a separate opt-out mechanism for in-store data collection distinct from the general choice not to use Amazon Services.
No. ConductAtlas is an independent monitoring service. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Amazon Marketplace.