Provision record
Amazon Marketplace · Amazon Privacy Notice · View original document ↗

In-Store Camera, Sensor, and Computer Vision Data Collection

High severity Medium confidence Explicit document language Unique · 0 of 352 platforms
Stay ahead of the changes
Track Amazon Marketplace and get the diff the day its terms change.
Share 𝕏 Share in Share 🔒 PDF
Document Record

What it is

The notice discloses that Amazon's physical retail locations use cameras, computer vision systems, sensors, and related technology to collect data about customer activity, including product interactions within the store.

ⓘ

This analysis describes what Amazon Marketplace's agreement states, permits, or reserves. It does not constitute a legal determination about enforceability. Regulatory applicability and practical outcomes may vary by jurisdiction, enforcement context, and individual circumstances. Read our methodology

ConductAtlas Analysis

Why it matters (compliance & governance perspective)

This provision authorizes collection of behavioral and potentially biometric-adjacent data in physical store environments without specifying distinct consent mechanisms, retention periods, or opt-out procedures beyond general service use consent. The scope of this collection may require evaluation under state biometric privacy statutes and consumer health data laws depending on the jurisdiction in which stores operate.

⚠

Interpretive note: The extent to which cameras and sensors collect biometric data as legally defined under state statutes versus general behavioral activity data is not specified in the notice, creating interpretive uncertainty about applicable regulatory obligations.

Recent Activity

This document changed recently

Medium Aug 9, 2026

The updated privacy notice explicitly discloses that Amazon uses machine learning and artificial intelligence to support and enhance customer experience, including developing and deploying generative AI models and services. Under the revised policy, your personal information may be used for these AI development purposes. Amazon added a reference to its Generative AI Development Disclosure for additional details on how data is used in this context. You can review the Generative AI Development Disclosure linked in the updated privacy notice for more specific information about AI model development.

View change record →

Consumer impact (what this means for users)

The agreement establishes that physical store visits may result in collection of activity data through cameras, sensors, and computer vision systems. The notice does not specify a separate opt-out mechanism for in-store data collection distinct from the general choice not to use Amazon Services.

Cross-platform context

See how other platforms handle In-Store Camera, Sensor, and Computer Vision Data Collection and similar clauses.

Compare across platforms →
▸ View Original Clause Language DOCUMENT RECORD
"
Our physical stores may use cameras, computer vision, sensors, and other technology to gather information about your activity in the store, such as the products and services you interact with.

Excerpt from Amazon Marketplace's Amazon Privacy Notice

ConductAtlas Analysis

Institutional analysis (regulatory & governance intelligence)

1) REGULATORY LANDSCAPE: This provision may require evaluation under the Illinois Biometric Information Privacy Act, the Washington My Health MY Data Act, the Texas Capture or Use of Biometric Identifier Act, and similar state statutes …

Insight

Unlock the full institutional analysis

Enforcement risk, jurisdiction flags, contract triggers, and due diligence action items.

Applicable agencies

  • Federal Trade Commission (ftc)
    Oversees unfair or deceptive business practices and can investigate companies that mislead consumers about data collection, sharing, or use.
    Who can file: Anyone affected by the company's practices (US or international)
    What you need: Your account details, a timeline of relevant events, and a description of the specific issue
    What to expect: Complaints inform FTC enforcement priorities and investigations but do not result in individual resolution or compensation
    File a complaint →
  • State Attorney General
    State AGs in California, New York, Texas, and other states can investigate violations of state consumer protection and privacy laws, including CCPA (California), SHIELD Act (New York), and equivalents.
    Who can file: Residents of states with comprehensive privacy laws — primarily California, Virginia, Colorado, Connecticut, and Utah
    What you need: Evidence of the violation, explanation of how your state rights were affected, and your account or contact information with the company
    What to expect: Outcomes vary by state. May result in investigation, enforcement action, or requirement for the company to change practices. No direct individual compensation in most cases.

    Search "[your state] attorney general consumer complaint" to find your state's direct complaint form

Provision details

Document information
Document
Amazon Privacy Notice
Entity
Amazon Marketplace
Document last updated
May 5, 2026
Tracking information
First tracked
April 27, 2026
Last verified
July 9, 2026
Record ID
CA-P-016134
Document ID
CA-D-00027
Evidence Provenance
Source URL
Wayback Machine
Content hash (SHA-256)
8d2e6f401e3074315cb3ef72d05c681865898ea8e39095517ad2ab8b4eb73cd6
Analysis generated
April 27, 2026 10:46 UTC
Methodology
Evidence
✓ Snapshot stored   ✓ Hash verified
Citation Record
Entity: Amazon Marketplace
Document: Amazon Privacy Notice
Record ID: CA-P-016134
Captured: 2026-04-27 10:46:06 UTC
SHA-256: 8d2e6f401e307431…
URL: https://conductatlas.com/platform/amazon-marketplace/amazon-privacy-notice/provision/CA-P-016134/in-store-camera-sensor-and-computer-vision-data-collection/
Accessed: Sept. 26, 2026
Permanent archival reference. Stable identifier suitable for legal filings, compliance documentation, and research citation.
Classification
Severity
High
Categories

Other risks in this policy

Get the research letter

Companies change their terms quietly. We read every version and catch what actually changed. One email a week on the changes that matter and what they mean.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does Amazon Marketplace's In-Store Camera, Sensor, and Computer Vision Data Collection clause do?

This provision authorizes collection of behavioral and potentially biometric-adjacent data in physical store environments without specifying distinct consent mechanisms, retention periods, or opt-out procedures beyond general service use consent. The scope of this collection may require evaluation under state biometric privacy statutes and consumer health data laws depending on the jurisdiction in which stores operate.

How does this clause affect you?

The agreement establishes that physical store visits may result in collection of activity data through cameras, sensors, and computer vision systems. The notice does not specify a separate opt-out mechanism for in-store data collection distinct from the general choice not to use Amazon Services.

Is ConductAtlas affiliated with Amazon Marketplace?

No. ConductAtlas is an independent monitoring service. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Amazon Marketplace.